Science On Stage - Deutschland

The European Network For Science Teachers

Jürgen Miericke

Jürgen Miericke

Hardenberg-Gymnasium-Fürth (a.D.) physics, maths juergen-miericke[at]t-online.de

Until his retirement Jürgen Miericke was a teacher for physics and maths at the Hardenberg-Gymnasium in Fürth. He completed his studies in physics at the Technische Hochschule in Munich. After that he worked at the research laboratory of the Siemens AG in Erlangen at the development of magnetic levitation with supraconducting magnets. He started his teaching career at the Gymnasium in Röthenbach an der Pegnitz. As district group manager for physics he organised teacher trainings and represented the subject physics at the educational advisory board of the Bavarian philologists association until to his retirement. As seminar teacher for physics he trained student teachers at the Hardenberg-Gymnasium in Fürth. Furthermore he represented the division ‘school’ at the professional association didactics of physics of the Deutsche Physikalische Gesellschaft (DPG). In 2000 he took part in the European festival ‘Physics on Stage’ and since that commits himself as member and ambassador of Science on Stage Germany. After his retirement he ministered several lectures and seminars at the didactics of physics at the University Erlangen-Nürnberg. In 2006 he got awarded with the Kerschensteiner Preis of the Deutsche Physikalische Gesellschaft for his commitment at physics in school. Since 2007 he takes physics on stage again with the ‚Phy[Mu]sikern‘.

 

What did being a teacher mean to you?

As teacher for physics I often considered myself as an actor, standing in front of his students on a stage and trying to fascinate them for physics with different ‚requisites‘. My maxime always was: ‘Physics is everywhere‘. For the subject physics I often used the following definition: 'Physics in school is not to insert numerical values you do not understand in formula yet to understand, but using your ‚common sense‘, disciplined by the application of some maths to make everday life and your environment better understandable.’ (quote)

 

What to you think about Science on Stage - in 3 words?

STEM-projects for Europe

 

Why participate?

You inform European colleagues about your own projects and receive yourself some motivation to try out interesting STEM-projects from all across Europe. 

 

 

Commitment at Science on Stage:

Participant 'Physics on Stage' 2000 (Geneva), member of Science on Stage Germany since 2003, participant 'European Science on Stage festival' 2005 (Geneva) / 2007 (Grenoble) / 2008 (Berlin) / 2013 (S?ubice-Frankfurt (Oder)), participant 'National Science on Stage festival' 2012 (Berlin), participant 'Teaching Science in Europe 1 and 2', repeatedly member of the panel at national Science on Stage festivals, since 2015 ‘ambassador’ for Science on Stage Germany.

 

Further:

Member of the panel at the support programme 'Physics for students‘ of the Deutsche Physikalische Gesellschaft and the Wilhelm und Else Heraeus-Stiftung, speaker at several teacher trainings.  Project: 'Physics in pedestrian areas and parks'.

 

Press review on Jürgen Miericke:

Franken Fernsehen - Wie Nürnberger die Welt ein bisschen besser machen (16.07.2017)

 

Idealisten - Wir Nürnberger die Welt ein bisschen besser machen from Medienwerkstatt Franken on Vimeo.


discover more teacher?



Mirek Hancl Mirek Hancl chemistry, computer science MORE Jean-Luc Richter Jean-Luc Richter Lycée Jean-Baptiste Schwilgué, Sélestat, France physics, chemistry and science MORE

Science On Stage - Deutschland

The European Network For Science Teachers

Jürgen Miericke

Jürgen Miericke

Hardenberg-Gymnasium-Fürth (a.D.) Physik, Mathematik juergen-miericke[at]t-online.de

Jürgen Miericke war bis zu seiner Pensionierung Lehrer für Physik und Mathematik am Hardenberg-Gymnasium in Fürth. Sein Studium der Physik absolvierte er an der Technischen Hochschule München. Danach arbeitete er im Forschungslabor der Siemens AG in Erlangen bei der Entwicklung der Magnetschwebetechnik mit supraleitenden Magneten. Seine Laufbahn als Lehrer nahm er am Gymnasium in Röthenbach an der Pegnitz auf. Als Bezirksgruppenleiter für Physik organisierte er Lehrerfortbildungen und vertrat im Bildungsbeirat des Bayerischen Philologenverbandes das Schulfach Physik. Am Hardenberg-Gymnasium in Fürth bildete er als Seminarlehrer für Physik Referendare aus. Darüber hinaus wirkte er im Fachverband Didaktik der Physik der Deutschen Physikalischen Gesellschaft (DPG) als Vertreter des Bereichs Schule. Im Jahr 2000 nahm er mit dem Projekt ‚Physik zum Anfassen‘ beim europäischen Festival Physics on Stage teil und ist seither bei Science on Stage engagiertes Mitglied. Nach seiner Pensionierung leitete er als freier Mitarbeiter mehrere Vorlesungen und Seminare bei der Didaktik der Physik an der Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg. Im Jahr 2006 erhielt er den Kerschensteiner Preis der Deutschen Physikalischen Gesellschaft für sein Engagement in Sachen Schulphysik. Seit 2007 klärt er mit den ‚Phy[Mu]sikern‘ Kinder, Jugendliche und Erwachsene mit Kreativität und Spannung über physikalische Phänomene aus dem Alltag auf.

 

Spickzettel:

 

Was bedeutet es für Sie Lehrer gewesen zu sein?

Als Physiklehrer habe ich mich oft wie ein Unternehmer oder ein Schauspieler gesehen, der vor seinen Schülerinnen und Schülern auf einer Bühne steht und im Hintergrund (Physiksammlung und Alltagsgegenstände) viel 'Spielzeug' hat, mit dem er interaktiv seine jugendlichen Zuhörer und Zuschauer für physikalische Phänomene faszinieren kann. Meine Devise war immer: 'Physik ist überall'. Für das Schulfach Physik befolgte ich sehr oft folgende Definition: 'Physik in der Schule ist nicht das Einsetzen von unverstandenen Zahlenwerten in noch unverstandenere Formeln, sondern 'gesunder Menschenverstand', diszipliniert durch etwas Mathematik, um den Alltag und die Umwelt besser zu verstehen'. (Zitat)

 

Was ist Science on Stage für Sie – in 3 Worten?

MINT-Projekte für Europa

 

Warum mitmachen?

Europäische Kolleginnen und Kollegen werden über eigene Projekte informiert und man selbst erhält die Motivation, interessante MINT-Projekte aus europäischen Ländern selber auszuprobieren.

 

 

Engagement bei Science on Stage:

Teilnehmer 'Physics on Stage' 2000 (Genf), Mitglied bei Science on Stage seit 2003, Teilnehmer 'Europäisches Science on Stage Festival' 2005 (Genf) / 2007 (Grenoble) / 2008 (Berlin) / 2013 (Słubice-Frankfurt (Oder)), Teilnehmer 'Nationales Science on Stage Festival' 2012 (Berlin), Teilnehmer 'Teaching Science in Europe 1 und 2', mehrmals Jurymitglied bei nationalen Science on Stage Festivals, Botschafter für Science on Stage seit 2015.

 

Weiteres Engagement:

Juror beim Förderprogramm 'Physik für Schülerinnen und Schüler' der Deutschen Physikalischen Gesellschaft und der Wilhelm und Else Heraeus-Stiftung, Referent bei Lehrerfortbildungsveranstaltungen. Planung: 'Physik in Fußgängerzonen und Parks'.

 

 


Weitere Lehrkräfte entdecken



Jean-Luc Richter Jean-Luc Richter Lycée Jean-Baptiste Schwilgué, Sélestat, Frankreich Physik, Chemie und Naturwissenschaft MEHR Kirsten Lauritsen Kirsten Lauritsen Friedrich-Anton-von-Heinitz-Gymnasium Rüdersdorf Chemie, Biologie MEHR