Science On Stage - Deutschland

The European Network For Science Teachers

  • Contact Verena Wagner Press and Public Relations, Homepage, Social Media v.wagner@science-on-stage.de Phone +49 30 400067-42

Kick it with science: Football gets the ball rolling for maths, physics and other STEM subjects

Freitag 03.06.2016

Science on Stage presents an international teacher project in Brussels to coincide with UEFA Euro 2016

(Brussels, 3 June 2016) What is the perfect curve of a ball’s trajectory, what must the ideal turf be like, and what’s the CO2 balance of the UEFA European Championship? Football involves a lot of science. How this can be used in class was shown yesterday by Science on Stage, the European network for STEM teachers. The non-profit organisation presented its international teacher project “iStage 3: Football in Science Teaching” at the Representation of the State of Hesse to the European Union in Brussels.

“Football is a topic that thrills students and teachers alike, and raises a wide range of interesting, interdisciplinary questions,” says French chemistry teacher Jean-Luc Richter, who also coordinates the iStage 3 project.

For almost two years, Richter and 20 other teachers from 15 European countries worked hard on the iStage 3 project, creating a new publication that has been released in time for UEFA Euro 2016 in France. Main coordinator of the project was Dr Jörg Gutschank, Chair of Science on Stage Germany. The brochure shows how natural sciences, mathematics, computer science and technology can be presented in an innovative and practical manner in relation to football.

The project was initiated by the European education network Science on Stage.

“Face-to-face communication is extremely important for contemporary lessons and for the professional development of teachers,” says Stefanie Schlunk, Chairwoman of Science on Stage Europe. “It is precisely this ‘learning from one another’ that Science on Stage is promoting with long-term international projects such as iStage 3.”

“Football in Science Teaching” is Science on Stage’s third publication in the iStage series, which is funded by the software manufacturer SAP. According to Schlunk, the great response demonstrates how much European teachers want to cooperate with one another and how great the demand is for ideas concerning current topics from teachers for teachers. The two previous projects, ”iStage 1: Information and Communnications Technolgy (ICT) in Science Teaching” and “iStage 2: Smartphones in Science Teaching”, have been published in numerous languages and several editions. “iStage 3” is also expected to meet with an enthusiastic response. To coincide with the material’s publication, Alicia Lenze, Head of Global Corporate Social Responsibility at SAP SE, has announced a follow-up project with Science on Stage: the European STEM League.

“In the European STEM League, we not only invite teachers to try out the teaching ideas from iStage 3 but also to expand and refine them as well,” says Lenze. “The enthusiasm for football is the common denominator for students and teachers alike. With this initiative, SAP wants to encourage young people’s interest in and study of STEM subjects in an entertaining way — and do so throughout Europe.”

The 11 most original implementation ideas will be presented during the European Code Week 2017. STEM teachers from all across Europe can apply to take part until September 2016.



About Science on Stage Germany
Science on Stage organises Europe’s biggest teacher festivals, workshops, and continuing education courses to provide science teachers with a platform where they can jointly present their best teaching projects and learn from one another. Launched in 2003, the initiative reaches 100,000 teachers from primary and secondary schools in more than 25 countries. Science on Stage Germany receives extensive support from think ING., an initiative for future engineers from the Federation of German Employers' Associations in the Metal and Electrical Engineering Industries.


Information for editorial offices:
Images of the event are available on request
“iStage 3” can be downloaded as a PDF file from www.science-on-stage.de/iStage3-EN
Information about the European STEM League at www.science-on-stage.de/STEMleague
Science on Stage on Twitter: #ScienceonStage #iStage3 #EuropeanSTEMLeague
Science on Stage on Facebook: www.facebook.com/scienceonstageeurope/
Downloads PM - Internationales Lehrerprojekt macht den MINT-Unterricht mit Fußball zur runden Sache Press release - International teacher project on Football in Science Teaching

Science On Stage - Deutschland

The European Network For Science Teachers

  • Ansprechpartner Verena Wagner Presse- und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit, Homepage, Social Media v.wagner@science-on-stage.de Telefon +49 30 400067-42

Kick it with science: Mit Fußball im MINT-Unterricht werden Mathe, Physik & Co. zur runden Sache

Freitag 03.06.2016

Science on Stage präsentiert zur EM 2016 internationales Lehrerprojekt in Brüssel

(Brüssel, 03.06.2016) Was ist die perfekte Ballflugkurve, wie muss der ideale Stadionrasen beschaffen sein und wie fällt die CO2-Bilanz einer Europameisterschaft aus? In Fußball steckt eine Menge Naturwissenschaft. Wie dies für den Unterricht genutzt werden kann, präsentierte gestern Science on Stage, das Europäische Netzwerk für MINT-Lehrkräfte, in der EU Landesvertretung Hessen in Brüssel mit dem internationalen Lehrerprojekt ‚iStage 3 – Fußball im MINT-Unterricht‘.

„Fußball ist ein Thema, das Schüler wie Lehrer begeistert und gleichzeitig ein breites Spektrum an interessanten, fächerübergreifenden Fragen, bietet“, so Jean-Luc Richter, Chemielehrer aus Frankreich und Projektkoordinator bei ‚iStage 3‘.

Fast zwei Jahre haben er und 20 weitere Lehrkräfte aus 15 europäischen Ländern intensiv an ‚iStage 3‘ gearbeitet. Das Projekt wurde inhaltlich von Dr. Jörg Gutschank, dem Vorsitzenden von Science on Stage Deutschland, koordiniert. Das Ergebnis ist eine Publikation, die passend zur EM 2016 in Frankreich zeigt, wie Mathematik, Informatik, Naturwissenschaften und Technik rund ums Thema Fußball innovativ und praxisnah gestaltet werden können.

Initiiert wurde das Projekt von der europäischen Bildungsinitiative Science on Stage:

„Für einen zeitgemäßen Unterricht und die Weiterbildung von Lehrkräften ist der persönliche Austausch extrem wichtig. Genau dieses ‚voneinander Lernen‘ fördert Science on Stage mit internationalen Langzeitprojekten wie ‚iStage 3‘“, sagt Stefanie Schlunk, Vorsitzende von Science on Stage Europe.

Mit ‚Fußball im MINT-Unterricht‘ gibt Science on Stage bereits die dritte Publikation in der ‚iStage‘-Reihe heraus, ermöglicht vom Softewarehersteller SAP. Für Schlunk zeigt der hohe Zuspruch, wie groß der Wunsch unter Europas Lehrkräften nach Zusammenarbeit ist, aber auch, wie sehr Ideen von Lehrern für Lehrer zu aktuellen Themen gefragt sind: Die beiden Vorgängerprojekte ‚iStage 1 – Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologien im MINT-Unterricht‘ sowie ‚iStage 2 – Smartphones im MINT-Unterricht‘ sind in vielen Sprachen in mehrfacher Nachauflage erschienen. Auch für ‚iStage 3‘ wird erneut mit einer hohen Resonanz gerechnet. Parallel zum Erscheinen der Materialien kündigt Alicia Lenze, Leiterin Global Corporate Social Responsibility der SAP SE, bereits das Folgeprojekt mit Science on Stage, die ‚European STEM League‘ an:

„Mit der ‚European STEM League‘ laden wir ein, die Unterrichtsideen aus ‚iStage 3‘ nicht nur auszuprobieren, sondern selbst auszugestalten und weiterzuentwickeln. Die Begeisterung für Fußball ist dabei für Schüler und Lehrer der gemeinsame Nenner. SAP will mit dieser Initiative das Interesse und die Beschäftigung mit MINT Themen von jungen Menschen auf spielerische Weise anregen– und das europaweit.“

Die elf originellsten Ideen zur Umsetzung werden dann im Rahmen der European Code Week 2017 präsentiert. MINT-Lehrkräfte aus ganz Europa können sich bis September 2016 bewerben.



Über Science on Stage Deutschland e.V.
Science on Stage bietet mit Europas größten Lehrerfestivals, Workshops und Fortbildungen Lehrern naturwissenschaftlicher Unterrichtsfächer eine Bühne, ihre besten Unterrichtsprojekte gemeinsam zu präsentieren und voneinander zu lernen. Die Initiative besteht seit 2003 und erreicht von der Grundschule bis zur Oberstufe 100.000 Lehrer in über 25 Ländern. Science on Stage Deutschland e.V. wird im besonderen Maße gefördert von think ING., der Initiative für Ingenieurnachwuchs des Arbeitgeberverbandes Gesamtmetall.


Hinweise an die Redaktion:
Bilder zur Veranstaltung auf Anfrage
PDF-Download ‚iStage 3‘ unter www.science-on-stage.de/iStage3-DE
Informationen zur Europäischen MINT Liga unter www.science-on-stage.de/MINT-Liga
Science on Stage bei Twitter: #SonS_D #iStage3 #EuropeanSTEMLeague
Science on Stage bei Facebook: www.facebook.com/scienceonstagedeutschland
Downloads PM - Internationales Lehrerprojekt macht den MINT-Unterricht mit Fußball zur runden Sache Press release - International teacher project on Football in Science Teaching