Science On Stage - Deutschland

The European Network For Science Teachers

Phineo

Our Science on Stage festivals: An Overview

The initiative Science on Stage started in 2000. Our aim then and now: to support science teachers in their professional development through the personal exchange of best practice teaching ideas and to improve STEM teaching on a European level.

In the year 2000, the European science-festival “Physics on Stage” was held for the first time. Target group were physics teachers who came together at the European Organization for Nuclear Research (CERN) in Geneva. The event was organised by CERN, ESA and ESO. The European Commission supported the initiative by the 5th Framework Programme (for Research and Technological Development). Over 400 teachers from 22 European countries met to find new ways in physics education.

From 2005 onwards, the initiative was continued under the name of “Science on Stage”. From now on, all natural sciences (STEM) were included. The organisational responsibility laid within the hands of the seven research institutes on EU level that have formed the EIROforum. The European members have been acquired by the National Steering Committees (NSCs).

Science on Stage Germany decided in 2007 to carry on the initiative by its own but along with all 27 member states. The continuation was enabled by the funding of the employers’ association GESAMTMETALL and its initiative think ING.

The first nationally organised Science on Stage Festival took place from 23-26 October 2008 under the patronage of the Representation of the European Commission in Germany at the Urania in Berlin.

In 2011, the Science on Stage Festival took place from 16-19 April in Copenhagen, Denmark. Under the motto “Winning Hearts and Minds”, 250 teachers and educators from 27 countries came together.

Under the motto "Crossing Borders in Science Teaching", 350 teachers from 25 countries came together from 25-28 April 2013. For the first time the Science on Stage festival took place in bilateral cooperation: Science on Stage Poland and Science on Stage Germany hosted the festival in the border cities of Slubice and Frankfurt (Oder).

From 17-20 June 2015 350 teachers came together to present their teaching projects under the motto "Illuminating Science Education". This festival was organised by Science on Stage UK.

The 10th European Science on Stage festival took place from 29 June to 2 July 2017 in Debrecen, Hungary. Around 450 STEM teachers from 32 countries came together to exchange their best practice teaching ideas under the  motto "Inventing the Future of Science Education". With Egypt and Israel for the first time also two non-European countries took part as associate members to the network.

The next European Science on Stage festival will take place from 31 October to 3 November 2019 in Cascais, Portugal. The motto will be "Skills for the Future". Around 450 teachers from 35 countries are expected. The pre-selection process for the national teacher delegations starts in 2018. The event is organised by Science on Stage Portugal this time.

Science On Stage - Deutschland

The European Network For Science Teachers

Phineo

Die Science on Stage Festivals im Überblick

Die Initiative Science on Stage begann im Jahr 2000. Ziel war es damals Lehrkräften eine europäische Bühne zum persönlichen Austausch zu bieten, sie damit in ihrer beruflichen Weiterbildung zu unterstützen und so die Qualität des MINT-Unterrichts zu fördern. Das gilt noch heute.

Im Jahr 2000 fand zum ersten Mal das europäische Wissenschaftsfestival "Physics on Stage" für Physiklehrkräfte im Teilchenforschungsinstitut CERN in Genf statt. Initiiert und organisiert wurde die Veranstaltung von CERN, der ESA und der ESO. Die Europäische Kommission unterstützte die Initiative über das 5. Forschungsrahmenprogramm. Mehr als 400 Lehrkräfte aus 22 europäischen Ländern kamen zusammen, um neue Wege für den Physikunterricht zu diskutieren.

Ab 2005 wurde die Initiative  unter dem Namen "Science on Stage" fortgeführt. Ab sofort wurden alle MINT-Fächer sowie Sachunterricht einbezogen. Die Organisation lag bei den sieben Forschungseinrichtungen auf EU-Ebene, die sich im EIROforum zusammengeschlossen haben. Die europäischen Teilnehmer wurden durch die Nationalen Auswahlkomitees (National Steering Committees - NSC's) gewonnen.

Science on Stage Deutschland e.V. entschied 2007 als deutsches NSC, die Initiative unter eigener Organisation gemeinsam mit den 27 beteiligten Ländern fortzuführen. Ermöglicht wurde die Fortsetzung durch die Förderung des Arbeitgeberverbandes GESAMTMETALL mit seiner Initiative think ING.

Das erste von nationaler Ebene organisierte Science on Stage Bildungsfestival fand vom 23. - 26. Oktober 2008 unter der Schirmherrschaft der Vertretung der Europäischen Kommission in Deutschland in der Urania in Berlin statt.

2011 fand das Science on Stage Festival vom 16.-19. April 2011 in Kopenhagen, Dänemark statt. Unter dem Motto „Winning Hearts and Minds" kamen rund 250 Lehrkräfte und Erzieherinnen und Erzieher aus 27 Ländern zusammen.

Unter dem Motto "Crossing Borders in Science Teaching" kamen vom 25.-28. April 2013 rund 350 Lehrkräfte aus 25 Ländern zusammen. Erstmals fand das Science on Stage Festival in bilateraler Kooperation statt: Science on Stage Polen und Science on Stage Deutschland richteten das Festival in den Grenzstädten Slubice und Frankfurt (Oder) aus.

2015 trafen sich vom 17.-20. Juni rund 400 Lehrkräfte aus 25 Ländern in London und stellten unter dem Motto "Illuminating Science Education" ihre Unterrichtsprojekte vor, ausgerichtet von Science on Stage UK.

Sein 10. Jubiläum feierte das Europäische Science on Stage Festival vom 29. Juni 2017 bis zum 2. Juli 2017 unter dem Motto "Inventing the Future of Science Education" in Debrecen, Ungarn. Organisiert wurde die Veranstaltung von Science on Stage Ungarn. Rund 450 Lehrkräfte aus 32 Ländern tauschten sich über gelungene best-practice Unterrichtskonzepte aus. Zum ersten Mal mit dabei waren auch Vertreter aus Ägypten und Israel als Associate Members im Netzwerk.

Das nächste Europäische Science on Stage Festival wird vom 31. Oktober bis 3. November 2019 in Cascais, Portugal, statt. Unter dem Motto "Skills for the Future" werden rund 450 Lehrkräfte aus 35 Ländern erwartet. Die Vorauswahlen für die nationalen Lehrerdelegationen starten in 2018. Die Veranstaltung wird dieses Mal organisiert von Science on Stage Portugal.